TOOTH POWDER

I tried to make and use two different kinds of DIY toothpaste; gel like toothpaste with coconut oil and powdered one. All of my family and friends with whom I shared both kinds of toothpaste said the powdered one is a star. Powdered toothpaste also has much longer shelf life. Everyone I talked to, including me, thinks powdered toothpaste cleans better than the other one and the feeling of cleanliness and smooth tooth surface. There are claims that since conventional toothpaste contains glycerin in order to be spreadable and a “paste”, this glycerin also coats teeth and stays on tooth surface. Then, food particles stick to this surface and also, this thin glycerin layer prevents saliva from being in direct contact with enamel, which prevents it to perform its healing and protective function. So, it makes sense to try brushing with a powder. I think this is one of the best things I made from scratch and I keep using it ever since. The ingredients help remineralize teeth even when the enamel is damaged.

This tooth powder is free of fluoride, paraben, gluten, glycerin, preservatives. Shelf life is almost indefinite. Since it is a powder, it can last for years. The only thing You need to be careful it not to rip a lot of water in it when dipping You toothbrush, as it can harden the powder.

sendvic7.jpg

I adjusted the recipe I found on Wellness mama website to my own preferences and information, combining it with other recipes I came upon. Most importantly, I adjusted the bicarbonate soda content in the toothpaste. As I researched abrasivity of baking soda and Mohr’s Scale of Mineral Hardness, I decided to reduce the amount of baking soda and add some of my favorite herbal powders to the recipe. I also found an interesting video here on Dr. Bass brushing technique that claims it is not only important what we brush with, but how.

Regarding baking soda, I also read that when brushing with just baking soda, that it is advised to dilute it in a little bit of water first, so it would be completely gentle to the enamel. This can be done with the powdered toothpaste as well, if that is what You prefer.

 

Recipe:

You need:

4 TBS french green clay

1 tsp bicarbonate soda

2.5 TBS peppermint leaf powder, organic

1.5 TBS ceylon cinnamon powder, organic

1 TBS clove powder, organic

2.5 TBS xylithol powder

3 TBS calcium powder

1/2 tsp neem powder

optional: 10 drops clove essential oil, therapeutic quality

You do:

If You don’t have powdered peppermint, You can make it in food processor or coffee grinder, grinding dry leaves.

If Your xylithol is too coarse, You should also grind it, to resemble structure of powdered sugar. Also, if You want to save on calcium powder, You can make some by grinding organic grass fed eggshells (wash them, dry, then grind). Eggshells are actually mostly composed of calcium carbonate. I bought my calcium powder on I herb and xylithol at a local health food store.

Mix all the ingredients in a glass jar using wooden, ceramic or plastic spoon, as clay draws out toxins from metals. If using clove EO, mix thoroughly with toothpick or spoon. Although most of the ingredients are extremely antibacterial and antivirus, it is advised to use separate small glass containers if more members of one family will be using the toothpaste.

Use:

Damp Your toothbrush and dip it in the tooth powder. Wash Your teeth. Enjoy whitening, healing and remineralizing effects for Your teeth, as well as Your fresh breath. It tastes a little bit like Christmas, because of cinnamon and clove and it is sweet from xylithol, so my kids love to use it.

 

 

 

Leave a comment