PREGNANCY BELLY OIL

In my first pregnancy I used a wonderful belly oil by L’occitane. It was lovely, it worked, it smelled delicious, the ingredients were pure, cold pressed and organic. But, when I was pregnant, I was very goofy and before I used even half of the bottle, I accidentally broke it, spilled all the oil on the floor. Then I bought a new bottle. I had thought it was impossible to make it at home. Now that I looked up the ingredients – only 2 of them, almond oil and essential oil for scent, I am so happy to know I can not only recreate this luxurious oil, but also adjust it to my own preferences and needs. With high quality ingredients, it turns out equally good as the store bought, even better!

In my second pregnancy, in the beginning I used belly butter that I made myself, with shea butter, coconut oil and beeswax. But, in the second half of my pregnancy I used oil again, because it absorbed more quickly into my skin and it felt less greasy, so it stained my clothes less.

I was even more satisfied with the result of using this oil than the store bought one. I could make it smell as I like, I could make a small batch and make new one when I run out, changing the smell if I so chose.

Small glass bottle, 150-200 ml should be enough for the whole pregnancy if You use it wisely and on damp skin. Oils really need to be cold pressed, not refined, as refined oil only stays on the surface of Your skin and has almost no benefits compared to the good stuff.

If You don’t know which are the right oils for Your skin type, You can read this article and You will get the idea of what oil to try. For using any oil in pregnancy I suggest doing Your own research before putting anything on Your skin.

Benefits-Of-Almond-Oil-For-Skin.jpg

 

Recipe

You need:

  • small dark glass bottle 150-200 ml with a lid or oil pump
  • almond oil, cold pressed and organic
  • lavender essential oil
  • optional – natural vitamin E

You do:

Just mix 150-200ml of almond oil and 15 drops lavender EO in the glass bottle.

Adding natural vitamin E oil would be a big plus, as it preserves the shelf life of oils and nourishes skin, protecting elasticity. But, if it is too expensive for You, You can leave it out, keep a small bottle of belly oil in the bathroom and keep the rest of the batch in the fridge. In that case I recommend buying only 100ml fresh almond oil, making a batch, using it and then buying a fresh new almond oil for the second batch.

I get my natural vitamin E oil on I herb web shop and I am very happy with the quality.

Here is an info-graphic about which oils are safe to use during pregnancy.

pregnancy-qc

I think everyone should do a bit of research for themselves before using any essential oils or putting anything in their body in general, especially in pregnancy. Ever since I started using essential oils, I always consult Robert Tisserand’s website if I have doubts, because he is one of the most knowledgeable essential oil safety expert in the world. You can check out his website here.

 

Leave a comment